Monday, 22 April 2013

Why Do People Ignore Those of Us Who Are Small?


Dear Mr Bademosi,

I am pissed and i must say incredibly so. I hope you don't intend to ask me why? Good don't!............Anyways, i'll let you in on why i am this pissed.

I am tired of the discrimination against petite guys in this world! Read through literary texts from time immemorial and see how the symbol of true masculinity is typified as 6 foot plus men with chests as broad as a wall. Ask ladies about their ideal man and you will most likely hear "tall, dark and handsome" or how many will say "short, slim and handsome"? You want to join the military, you have to be tall or at least not "petite". It goes on and on like that into annoying infinite.

All these are not even as annoying as the fact that this biased worldview is at the center of the fashion landscape in Nigeria. Awhile ago, i went shopping for new cloths and fashion accessories. Like every other time, i came back frustrated and angry. You want to know why right?

Okay, so this is it....

Like seriously, why should I - or any other man below 6 ft - have to always amend my shirts, beat new holes into my belts and adjust the length/width of my trouser after purchase? Why should men like me with feet size 40 or less have to either pad our shoes or make our shoes customized or shop for our shoes in the children section? Why?! Is it a crime to be petite? Why do fashion houses focus majorly on big sized men and abandon us small men to our fate? Why hasn't there risen in Nigeria, a fashion brand that will target men 5 ft below and feet size 40 below?

Even in the USA, according to a 2008 report by the National Center for Health Statistics, over 25% of American men age 20 and up are 5-foot-8 or shorter. To meet the fashion needs of such men, several clothing lines popped up and a successful examples are Peter Manning, jimmy AU's and loads more who design cloths for shorter men.

What are Nigerian fashion designers doing? Are they even thinking at all? I see all of them facing the same direction and competing over nothing. Why can't any of them take up the initiative to fill this need? Or do they want to tell me that with the number of "petite men" in Nigeria, there is no ready market for such a venture? I may not know the figures, but i can tell you that we are PLENTY out here.

IF ANY FASHION DESIGN OUTFIT IS LISTENING OUT THERE!!! THIS IGNORED DEMOGRAPHY OF MEN NEED YOUR HELP!!! MEET OUT NEEDS AND I ASSURE YOU THAT WE'LL MAKE YOU RICH!!!


Yours sincerely,

Tj-bard
"The short slim man with small feet"


PS: If you want us to publish your pent up emotions, rantings or praise, kindly send to kennybrandmuse@gmail.com.

Sunday, 31 March 2013

To My Former Boss with Fake British Accent.




Dear Mr Bademosi,

Sir, please I need you to repeat all the comments you just read to me from that so called appraisal. I have sat here listening to you grade me on my performance in the past 18 months of s***
How dare you fucking sit down in front of me to appraise me in March with a document you wrote in January? Who the hell does that without even comparisms?
You are the most biased person i have ever met.

Just a month ago you called me to your office to beg me to take over my colleagues job who was going on leave, did you know how happy I was to finally have a job on my table? Did you ever for once think that working for your organization had dulled my six years experience in all aspects of advertising and made my life hell learning digital advertising under you?
I am a full graduate of Mass communication, majored in advertising not to talk of my better kpally from brand school, tutored by good mentors in the industry who have names, awards and are highly recognized in the industry, who have spent years laboring to build me up and give me a life? How dare you?

I joined your crèche of a company hoping to learn, thinking you were one of the best but NO! i was wrong. Six months passed without me achieving anything and heaven knows how hard I tried to get out of your clutches.
How would you claim to have agency experience and you are not aware that hierarchy exist and also processes also exist? Its fucking not enough to know the processes in your head.

The HR is a numbskull with years of academic administrative experience; tell me how that correlates to being a HR who has no clue on how employees are treated. It’s so sad because I see you struggling with the biggest client you have already lost.

Imagine HR asking employees to send in their Job Description???? Who does that? What’s the internet for if you don’t know?
You hire a bunch of immature with no clue on how a real agency operates and without an inkling of what their job description looks like? You make them managers and yet they can’t even communicate with the people they manage on what accounts are coming in or which accounts are lost? So called managers don’t understand the reasons for Monday Progress/Status Meetings

How can you hire a petrochemical graduate with two masters to be your IT personnel who also doubles as TRAFFIC (he has no clue of what that means in an agency) in your agency and just when he is asked to oversee a job he calls himself PROJECT MANAGER.....Oga no be construction you dey. At least i advised you to read a little on the Job description of traffic  in an ad agency and all oga at the top could do was shout It is my company!!! Imagine things and you think it won’t reflect on how your clients see your company as a whole.

Dear Oga @ the top, I have heard your gist on how you made your last company loose clients before you ran to the UK to learn digital and you came to naija to WASH for me with UK tonations.....cheiii you catch me mugu!

The brands you work for are crying out for professionalism. How can you go for meetings with PR manager, Media Manager and your client service manager is clueless on which accounts, doesn’t even know the contact persons for the brands you handle? Wrong information is disseminated and you throw your creative team to the gallows when it is you who passed wrong information to them.

It’s not about opening an agency but understanding the job roles of everyone and believing a team can be built. It’s not about having favorites in the office and admitting to it (the height of foolishness in your own wisdom).
It’s not about you speaking phonetics to prospective clients and not selling. Your crèche inhabits the height of indiscipline and lacks technical knowhow.

Thank God for open doors and windows..... 

Yours gone forever,

Ex-staff